Will Work 4 Toys

My Goddaughter, Enola, asked me one day if she could earn some money by doing some chores at my house.  There was a particular toy she’d been wanting to buy and my son James and her were concocting all sorts of scary schemes to make the necessary dough.

You know – “bake” sales, “lemonade” stands and garage sales with broken toys – scary.

Unfortunately, I didn’t have any spare change that particular day.  As I was deeply pondering how I could get the kids motivated to slave clean for me, I was struck with a brilliant idea – I’d order the toy she wanted online and we’d make a deal that she had to do so many chores until she’d earned the toy.

Once the her sister and my son caught the barest whiff of our deal they, on the knife’s edge of total meltdowns, wanted a similar such deal.  I quickly agreed.

Picture a 6 year old and 5 year old doing laundry perfectly – without any sort of supervision and totally independently.  Imagine an 8 year old asking if she can scrub the floors on her hands and knees, scraping off all the stickers with a butter-knife.  Envision, if you can, a 6 year old boy matching up shoes and cleaning an embarrassingly messy foyer closet. Picture toy rooms being cleaned with gusto – on multiple occasions. Picture children doing dishes without the barest hint of whining or disgruntlement.

This all happened.  It’s all fact, my friends.  I know, I’m incredibly impressed, too.  This works so much better than money bribes or threats.

Do you think they’ll do toilets?

Rowen (5), Enola (8), James (6)

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Will Work 4 Toys

  1. Dorothy Mercier

    Great star to learning what motivates most adults to get out of bed in the morning! It works as they get older..only thing is that the saving up takes longer cuz the “toys” (electronics) get more expensive! Keep up the good work kids (and creative thinking mom)!

  2. This is brilliant! I’m definitely storing this idea away for the future. Using my children for slaves WAS one of the reasons I decided to have them, after all. 😉

  3. April

    LOL too cute : )

Leave a Reply

