9 years together; 3 years married.

Do you know what day it is today?

On 08-16-2008, my baby-daddy and I got hitched.  I was 8 weeks pregnant with our third.

There’s a joke in there somewhere but I’m too tired to find it.

Long story, short:

I met Jon on one evening of drunken buffoonery and skinny-dipping.  I’d just gotten out of 5 successive going-nowhere relationships and was going off to college and had just decided to swear off boyfriends for a while… but he had (has) a cute bum, so I thought what the hell?  Really though – when you know, you know.  And I knew.  And so did he, I think.

Next thing I knew we were in a long term relationship, traveling back and forth from Ottawa to Peterborough nearly every weekend to see each other. That got to be expensive, so I transferred schools the next year so we could live together.

Like whiplash, in the three seconds it took for the line to develop on the pregnancy test, we went from college party animals to “real” adults.  Within the first 5 years, Jon graduated and found a job.  We got knocked up.  Bought a car.  Had James.  Bought a house.  Jon changed jobs.  Got pregnant again.  Jon changed jobs.  Had Julia.  Planned the wedding of the century.  Got pregnant again.  Got married.  We sold and bought a new house.  Had Josie.  We survived and learned and matured (a bit).

We’ve had amazing times, and not so amazing times.  Sometimes we’re really boring and too exhausted to think.  Sometimes it’s like a fairy tale.

Jon is so brave and so smart.  He’s my best friend and the man of my dreams.  I know as long as we’re together, we can get through anything.  I know people say that all the time, but for us it’s true.

To celebrate, we’re going out for our ritual anniversary dinner at Dairy Queen with the kids.  ‘Cause we’re classy like that.

Love you, Hunny.  Happy Anniversary.

Now, if only your laundry could find the damned hamper.

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “9 years together; 3 years married.

  1. I think the joke is about a cart and a horse, lol.😉 Happy anniversary to you both!

  2. Awe, how sweet!!!! Happy anniversary you two!

  3. rachel

    got a little teary reading this one. Congrats to an amazing couple.

  4. Oh puleeze, is there any other way to celebrate anything other than DQ!
    And I think my new favourite term is “baby daddy”…going to try it out on my baby daddy now.

Leave a Reply

