How the hell are ya?

I feel like we’re strangers, I haven’t seen you guys in such a long time.  6 days in the blogosphere is practically forever.  It’s nice to see y’all again. What have you been up to?

I’ve been doing some of this:

And this:

And of course, this:

Jon and I went on our white water rafting trip on Friday, and we camped out and partied Thursday and Friday nights.

Which means my parents got to hang out with the three kids and the puppy.  My kids exceeded our expectations and were practically angelic throughout the two days – and had a fantastic time on all the outings that had been planned.  As expected, they repressed all the shrieking, wailing, naughtiness and repeatedly waking up at night for us when we got home.

We paddled a total of 15 km punctuated by violent class 4 and 5 rapids.  No, neither of us fell out, though I somehow managed to get bruises all over my knees and lower thighs.  It’s a mystery.

We cliff jumped off a 20 foot high rock.  Jon will tell you that he saved me from certain death.  Phsaw – lies.  I was totally fine.  I might have been swimming blindly back to shore after jumping off that rock because I might have forgotten to tighten my helmet and it slid right over top of my eyes.  I had almost made it entirely by myself anyway.  It was only slightly embarrassing.

The rest of the trip (the parts when I wasn’t knocking on Death’s door), was incredibly relaxing.  It was so relaxing that my brain is still a puddle of sludge on the floor.  Or that could be the sleep deprivation talking.   The only thing we had to actually remember all weekend was getting to the rafting meeting at 7:45 and the bus at 8:30.

No responsibilities.  No chasing little humans.  No cleaning.  No cooking. No prescribed bedtime.  No routine.

You should try it sometime.  Ditch the kids and get away for a couple nights.  You won’t regret it.

Surprisingly, I didn’t miss the kids too terribly.  Not until we were packing up to go home, and a wave of anxiety settled over me like a dark cloud.  I knew in my head that everyone was fine and probably having a dandy time, but I couldn’t wait to get my snuggles and count all their fingers and toes.

We’re sixty for sixty.  All is well.

Leave a comment

Filed under Home

Leave a Reply

