Meet Boomer

On Saturday, while James and Josie were on playdates and after we brought Julia to her gymnastics class, we drove to bring our new baby home.

And it truly was like having a new baby.  I can’t remember ever being so nervous in labour as I was picking up our new puppy.  I swear, the butterflies in my gut were from the Jurassic era.

When we got there, our little girl was pulled out from a mass of writhing, sleepy puppies and we let her run around a bit to let some energy out.  It was so hard for me to peel her away from her family and friends.  I wrapped her up in “her” blanket, tucked her on my lap in the car and proceeded to bawl like a baby. totally ugly crying, as we were driving away.  Some strange combination of shedding all the nervous energy and the total empathy I was feeling for her being taken away from everything she’s ever known… and also probably some sort of hormonal fluctuation since this is completely foreign to me.

Of course, some of the rules I was going to firmly stick to come hell or high water have already been obliterated.  The main one being the “no dogs on the couch” rule.  I was screwed from day one.  I could never have seen those wide brown eyes in all their sadness and be so callous as to refuse to let the little wuppy curl up with me on the couch in the evening, just to give her a bit of comfort.

She’s a fantastic little girl.  I’m lucky that she’s one of those dogs who instinctively goes potty outside.  The first night in her crate was wicked awful, taking upwards of 45 minutes to calm herself down and she was up and barking every 2 to 3 hours to go pee outside.  Last night, however, was fantastic – she slept from 10pm to 4:30am, when Jon and I woke up with a start, realizing Boomer hadn’t gone out yet.  He took her outside for her pee, and she woke up for the morning at 7:30.  No accidents.  Sweet relief!

She already sits (most of the time), comes to us if we call for her, totally knows her name and is almost housebroken.  All before 8 weeks old. Really, she’s a dream dog.  I wonder what her “spawn of satan” phase (a.k.a. teenage phase) will be like?

And she’s SOOOOO CUTE!

Meet Boomer…

So far, not nearly as stressful as I thought it would be.  More pictures to come…

P.S. Look at what the mosquitoes have done to my baby?  Someone is slightly allergic to them and will be drunk on Benedryl for the next couple days…

2 Comments

Filed under Home

2 responses to “Meet Boomer

  1. Pingback: 10 Reasons why Puppies are Easier than Children | creatinglittlemonsters

  2. Pingback: Our Little Friends | creatinglittlemonsters

Leave a Reply

